Bandgirl's Blog











{March 3, 2015}   Bandgirl’s Blog is back in service!

I’m bringing this blog back to life.  For a short while I was dedicated, then life happened and by the time I even thought about making a post, it seemed so pointless.

But today I am breathing life back into this blog.

I have the greatest hobby, ever!  I am the bass player for my husband’s band Silverwing. I have played music to a few lonely drunks and I’ve played music in front of thousands of people.  For a formerly shy girl, this is just an amazing life.

I want to share some of the fun times we have had, maybe encourage a few girls to pick up a guitar and celebrate female musicians.

But I also want to share Silverwing. We are country band with a crazy edgy drive.  My husband was a lead player in a heavy metal band and give the guy a few beers and he’s tearing up a blistering guitar lead to just about anything from Merle Haggard to Jason Aldean. Being on stage with that kind of energy is a rush.  I love it and I just want to share it.

Of course, I wish Silverwing was opening for big acts, but I’m grateful for where we are in our lives.  If we stay busy, then I will be happy and content.  We have issued a CD of original music which is very popular with our followers.  If I can tell the world about our CD and gain a few fans that would make me very happy.  Someday we might even jump in the car, drive to Nashville and knock on a few doors, just to say…….. “I did it”

So welcome to my blog.  I hope you enjoy the stories that I share, I hope you learn a little about some awesome female musicians and maybe someday you might hear a Silverwing tune on the radio.

Check out our website at http://www.silverwingband.com and come like us on Facebook.com/silverwingband

Have a wonderful day, Mary “bandgirl” Warstler

Nikki says:

Hi!
Fun to connect with another female string player! Thanks for letting me know about your blog and about Silverwing. 🙂 Do you know about She Shreds magazine? They cover female guitarists and bass players.

Cheers,

Nikki O’Neill
womensroadtorockguitar.com



Hi Nikki,
I just went to your site, very nice. I listened to you playing some great music and enjoyed a video lesson on rhythm strums. Wow, all very cool. I will find She Shreds and check it out. I know my post is about playing bass, but I just picked that up 1 1/2 yrs ago, before that I was the rhythm player. Playing bass has taught me so much, I am inspired and excited. I’ll have to pick up a copy of the book on next payday, Thanks, hopefully we will keep in touch.
Mary Warstler



Leave a Reply

et cetera
